Photron is pleased to announce the winners of the ICHSIP-32 Slow Motion Video Awards!

We want to express our thanks to the judges for the awards:

Dr. Martin C. Richardson
University of Central Florida, USA

Dr. Bao Li Yao
Xi’an Institute of Optics and Precision Mechanics, China

Seddik Benhammadi
Science and Technology Facilities Council, UK

Best Artistic Award: Thomas Meier, Germany: Tit – A day at the window – Recorded with Photron FASTCAM AX200 color & mono 180mm Tele at 4,000fps

Best Scientific Award: Muhammad Saeed Saleem, China, Xi’an Jiaotong University: Rebound of a oil-lubricated water drop on a hydrophilic surface – Recorded with FASTCAM SA-Z Photron at 20,000fps

Honorable Mentions

Best Scientific Award: Harald Kleine: Thunder and Lightning- A sequence of high-speed schlieren visualizations of the spark and its associated shock wave, generated with a Ruhmkorff coil. Recording speeds are 10 million fps for the first clip and 1.25 million fps for the remaining ones.

Best Scientific  Award: Patricia Vega Martinez: The diffusion-driven growth of a foam ball in supersaturated liquids. Under normal gravity conditions, a bubble cloud grows by diffusion, however this process is interrupted after a few milliseconds when the bubble cloud starts a buoyancy-included rising motion. On the other hand, under micro-gravity conditions bubbles grow by pure diffusion.

Best Artistic Award: Jens Heidler: Destroying eggs with a slingshot, filmed with a FASTCAM Mini AX at 16,200fps.

Best Artistic Award: Phred Peterson: This shows the folding of a glycerol droplet as it falls through a solution of Magnesium Sulfate having a specific gravity of approximately 1.070. Rheinberg illumination was used to optically create the colors in the liquids. Shot at 1,600fps.

To view the official website announcement visits: